Second Annual Arctic Encounter Symposium - January 30-31, 2015


PRODUCED AND DIRECTED BY KALLANDER & ASSOCIATES at the university of washington and the museum of history and industry

Over 250 people gathered at the University of Washington School of Law to attend the second annual Arctic Encounter Symposium in Seattle, Washington on January 30-31, 2015. Participants included key industry leaders, members of Congress and State Legislatures, regional indigenous stakeholders, and experts from the academic, military, government, legal, and scientific research sectors.

The second annual Arctic Encounter Symposium focused on the role of the United States as an Arctic nation and the challenges it will confront in the 2015-2017 U.S. chairmanship of the Arctic Council, including: climate change, depleting natural resources, potential investment opportunities, and growing international relations. The goal of the 2015 Arctic Encounter was to facilitate a creative environment for the development of a proactive agenda, short and long-term domestic and international priorities, and a strategic execution plan.

2015 aes keynote and plenary session speakers:

  • U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski, Alaska

  • Vice Admiral Charles W. Ray, Pacific Area Commander, U.S. Coast Guard Defense Force West

  • Fran Ulmer, Chair, U.S. Arctic Research Commission

  • Rear Admiral Daniel B. Abel, Commander, 17th Coast Guard District

  • Edward Itta, U.S. Arctic Research Commission, former Mayor of the North Slope Borough of Alaska, former President of the Barrow Whaling Captains Association and the Inuit Circumpolar Council – Alaska

  • Brigadier General Guy Hamel, Royal Canadian Air Force, Deputy Director, Strategy, Policy and Plans, North American Aerospace Defense Command (NORAD) and United States Northern Command (USNORTHCOM)

  • Representative Bob Herron, Co-Chair, Alaska Arctic Policy Commission, Alaska

  • Mikå Mered, Managing Partner, POLARISK Group – London

  • Marilyn Heiman, Director, U.S. Arctic Program, The Pew Charitable Trusts

  • Brendan Kelly, Chief Scientist, Monterey Bay Aquarium, former Assistant Director for Polar Sciences, The White House

  • Rick Fox, President & General Manager, Edison Chouest Offshore

  • Senator Lesil McGuire, Co-Chair, Alaska Arctic Policy Commission, Alaska State Legislature

  • Dr. Lawson Brigham, Distinguished Professor of Geography & Arctic Policy, University of Alaska Fairbanks; and Fellow, U.S. Coast Guard Academy Center for Arctic Studies & Policy

  • Mead Treadwell, Owner, Treadwell Development; Lieutenant Governor of Alaska, 2010-2014; Advisor and Former Chair, U.S. Arctic Research Commission

  • Adrianna Muir, Ph.D., Deputy Senior Arctic Official, U.S. Department of State

  • Alice Rogoff, Publisher, Alaska Dispatch News; Co-Founder, The Arctic Circle

  • Dr. James Kendall, Regional Director, Alaska OCS Region, Bureau of Ocean Energy Management

  • Kellye Testy, Dean, University of Washington School of Law

  • Craig H. Allen Sr., Judson Falknor Professor of Law; Director, University of Washington Arctic Law & Policy Institute

  • Reggie Joule, Mayor, The Northwest Arctic Borough

  • Rachel Kallander, Founder & Executive Director, Arctic Encounter Symposium; Manager, Kallander & Associates LLC

  • John Iani, Partner, Perkins Coie LLP

  • Chris Gregorich, Chief of Staff, The Office of Mayor Murray, City of Seattle

  • Steve Wackowski, Operations Manager, Tulugaq, LLC

  • Captain John Reeves, USCG Cutter HEALY

  • Gregory Stanclick, Commanding Officer, USCG Cutter HEALY

  • Lisa J. Graumlich, Dean, College of the Environment, University of Washington

  • Craig Fleener, Special Arctic Advisor, The Office of Governor Walker, Alaska


2015 arctic encounter sponsors: