Third Annual Arctic Encounter Symposium - February 7-8, 2014



Over 200 people gathered at Seattle University to attend the Arctic Encounter Symposium in Seattle, Washington on February 7-8, 2014. Through dialogue and debate, participants tackled emerging challenges in the Arctic region and raised potential sustainable solutions for consideration.

The Symposium incorporated a diverse group of leaders and experts to debate how a rapidly changing Arctic is currently impacting international law, domestic policy, business and commerce, the environment, and the people of the Far North. Leading experts, CEO’s, and thought leaders from the science technology, maritime, and energy industries top corporations and organizations were also in attendance. The two day program was hosted by Seattle University School of Law with a dinner reception at the Seattle Aquarium on Pier 59. 

2014 AES Keynote and Plenary Session Speakers:

  • U.S. Senator Lisa Murkowski, Alaska
  • Alaska Lieutenant Governor Mead Treadwell
  • The Honorable Fran Ulmer, Chair, U.S. Arctic Research Commission
  • Brendan Kelly, Assistant Director for Polar Sciences, The Office of Science & Technology Policy, Executive Office of the President, The White House
  • Rear Admiral Richard T. Gromlich, Commander, 13th District, U.S. Coast Guard
  • Dr. Scott Borgerson, CEO, CargoMetrics and co-founder of The Arctic Circle
  • Raymond Arnaudo, Senior Advisor, Bureau of Oceans & International Environmental & Scientific Affairs, U.S. Department of State
  • Alice Rogoff, Publisher of the Alaska Dispatch, founder and director of The Arctic Circle
  • Edward Itta, appointed by President Obama to the U.S. Arctic Research Commission, Former Mayor of the North Slope Borough of Alaska, former President of the Barrow Whaling Captains Association and the Inuit Circumpolar Council-Alaska
  • Representative Bob Herron, Alaska State Legislature, Co-Chair of the Alaska Arctic Policy Commission
  • Edith St-Hilaire, Consul General of Canada
  • Marilyn Heiman, Director, U.S. Arctic Program, The PEW Charitable Trusts
  • Dr. Lawson Brigham, Distinguished Professor of Geography & Arctic Policy, University of Alaska Fairbanks, and Senior Fellow, Institute of the North
  • Doug Helton, Incident Operations Coordinator, The Office of Response & Restoration, National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration
  • Dr. James Overland, Oceanographer, Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory, National Oceanic & Atmospheric Administration
  • Senator Lesil McGuire, Alaska State Legislature, Co-Chair of the Alaska Arctic Policy Commission
  • John Iani, Partner, Perkins Coie LLP
  • Ghislaine Maxwell, President, The TerraMar Project
  • Rick Fox, Senior Vice President & General Manager, Edison Chouest Offshore-Alaska
  • Celes Eckerman, Policy Director, williamsworks
  • Nils Andreassen, Executive Director, The Institute of the North
  • Paul Fuhs, President, Marine Exchange of Alaska
  • Reggie Joule, Mayor, The Northwest Arctic Borough
  • Colin Crawford, Robert C. Cudd Professor of Law & Executive Director, Payson Center for International Development
  • Clare Petrich, Commissioner, Port of Tacoma

2014 Arctic encounter founding sponsors: